Kykkos Monastery & Kakopetria
Travel through the beautiful Troodos Mountains, explore some of the most picturesque and traditional villages and visit the richest and most miraculous monastery of Cyprus!
Located in the mountainous region of Marathasa Valley, the Monastery of Kykkos is the wealthiest and most lavish on the island, and stands on a mountain peak, at an altitude of 1.318 metres.
Dedicated to Panagia (the Virgin Mary), the monastery possesses one of three icons attributed to Agios Loukas (Apostle Luke) the Evangelist. The icon – covered in silver gilt – is in a shrine made of tortoiseshell and mother-of-pearl that stands in front of the iconostasis.
According to tradition, Cypriot hermit Isaiah miraculously healed the daughter of Emperor Alexios I Komnenos (1081-1118 AD). As a reward, he asked for the icon, and though grieved at the prospect of losing the treasure, the emperor sent it to Cyprus, along with the funds to pay for the construction of a monastery where the sacred relic would be kept. The monastery burned down several times and nothing remains of the original structure.
Today, the monastery produces Zivania spirit and other alcoholic drinks, and holds religious fairs on September 8th (Birth of the Virgin) and August 15th (Dormition of the Virgin). There is also a museum on the grounds, whilst it is noteworthy for being the monastery that the first President of Cyprus, Archbishop Makarios III served at as a novice.
“Opening and closing times as well as entrance fees, are subject to alterations without notice. Visitors are advised to check before visiting.”
Located in the Troodos mountain range, in the Solea Valley of the Lefkosia (Nicosia) region, the village of Kakopetria can be reached from Lefkosia by following the route E901, then the B10, and finally the B9.
The pretty village is a popular summer resort, thanks to its charming character and breathtaking scenery of pine forests that stretch across the Karkotis Valley. As such, it is ideal for agrotourism.
The old quarter of the village – with its narrow, stone-paved alleys – has been declared a protected heritage site, and its two-storey houses with their wooden balconies have been restored.
The Church of the Saviour’s Configuration (Metamorfosis tou Sotiros), which is built in the centre of the old village is worth visiting, whilst the church of Agios Nikolaos tis Stegis (St. Nicholas of the Roof) is located 5 km from the village. It is considered one of the most interesting Byzantine churches on the island, thanks to its painted murals that date from the 11th to the 17th century.
The village also has several other interesting sights, including the Linos Musuem and Olive Mill museum. The watermill ‘Mylos tis Gonias’ used to grind barley and grain from 1754. It closed down after the Second World War, and was restored in 1980.
Troodos is religiously significant for its string of 10 UNESCO World Heritage Site Byzantine Churches and other monasteries and chapels. Priceless ancient frescoes, fascinating stories of saints, and unique architecture showcase the island’s deep Christian roots.